New Year Honours List 2017

5 January 2017

Claire LomasWe would like to congratulate all NTU’s former colleagues, honorary graduates and alumni who were recognised in the New Year Honours List:

Sir Richard Eyre CBE (HonDLitt 1992) has been awarded the Companion of Honour for services to Drama.

Lynn Saunders (HonDSocSci 2015), Prison Governor at HMP Whatton, receives the OBE for public and voluntary services to prisoners in the UK and abroad.

Jo Boylan-Kemp (LLB Hons Law 2002, Bar Vocational Course 2003 and PGCert Higher Education 2010), former Principal Lecturer at Nottingham Law School, receives the MBE for services to higher education. Reflecting on her award, Jo said: “I was surprised and extremely honoured to be appointed an MBE for my services to higher education. The fact that it was for my work at NTU, which is where I undertook my own university education, makes it feel even more special.”

Claire Lomas (HonDUniv 2016) receives the MBE for charitable and voluntary services to spinal injury research. Claire is pictured right, collecting her honorary degree in July 2016.

Olympic gold medallists Crista Cullen (BA Hons Business Studies 2007 and HonDUniv 2016) and Dr Hannah MacLeod (PhD 2009 and HonDUniv 2016) receive the MBE for services to Hockey.

Vic Hird (Education (Further and Higher Education) 1989), former Academic Team Leader in the School of Animal, Rural and Environmental Sciences, receives the BEM for services to land-based education.

Carol Norman (BEd Education 1982), Head of Welbeck Primary School, receives the OBE for services to education.

Roger Cooke (BSc Hons Urban Estate Surveying 1980), former president of the British Chamber of Commerce in Spain, receives the MBE for his services to British business in Spain and British-Spanish trade and investment.


Connect with us:

Facebook iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedIn iconLinkedIn icon